Adding Distribution Lists

The first step when you email using this Campaign Monitor tool is to create your Distribution Lists and the below guide will show you how to do this 

  1. The first step is to select Utilities from the top menu 
  2. You then need to select Email Tools from the left hand side 
  3. From the expanded menu select Campaign Monitor and Distribution Lists 
  4. Now select Actions and Add from within the screen 
  5. The final step is to give your distribution list a name or Title and press Save

We recommend leaving the information under the Website Opt-In Form Settings and Unsubscribe Settings as they are for the below reasons

Website Opt-In Form Settings

This relates to how an individual is added to your distribution list. If you select 'Yes' to the option highlighted below, the system will automatically send an email to any individual added to this list and ask them to confirm that they are happy to be added. However if you leave it as 'No', you can add as many people as you like without having to get their approval 

Please Note - the "Confirmation Success Page' area in the above is only applicable if you have a sign up form on your website. If you do use this plug-in, you can link the subscriber to a particular branded webpage which can display a confirmation message (to notify them they have been added to your database). If you don't use this field, the subscriber will simply be taken to the generic Campaign Monitor confirmation page instead

Unsubscribe Settings

This relates to how an individual is removed from receiving email communications from you. If you select 'All Client Lists' to the Unsubscribe Setting highlighted below, the system will automatically unsubscribe the individual from ALL of your distribution lists. However if you leave it as 'Only This List', the system will only unsubscribe the individual from this ONE distribution list 

Please Note - the 'Unsubscribe Page' area in the above image gives you the opportunity to take the subscriber to a particular branded webpage where you can display the unsubscribe message (to notify them they have been removed from your database). If you don't use this field, the subscriber will simply be taken to the generic Campaign Monitor unsubscribe page instead